Peace love and happiness

20120622-165658.jpg

Every day I am inspired by hippies. They are pretty much my default inspiration on days when I don’t know what to wear. I’ve always been fascinated by their style– since I was about 8, I’d say– and while I don’t condone all of their behavior I always appreciate their willingness to love and ability to see beauty in things.

Anyway, this combination is my interpretation of hippie fashion at its finest. The headband is an old DIY (basically some embroidery thread braided together). The sunglasses have become a staple in my wardrobe since I bought them. I love pieces that make me shudder at first sight but are beautiful when I really look at them. The best accessories are interesting and have some kind– any kind– of meaning. I love that the glasses are reminiscent of John Lennon without being exact copies.

I believe that you can tell an accessory is a good one when wearing it makes you feel good, not just look good. If that holds any truth, then these are the best accessories I’ve owned during my short existence.

What items do you have that make you feel as good as you look?

Sunglasses from H&M

Icsh
-Allie

Leave a Reply

