The 5 best and worst things to happen to fashion

Fashion is influenced by so many things. As a reflection of our society and the way we live, it is always changing. New ideas enter and exit faster than many people can keep up. Here is what I consider some of the best and worst things to have entered the realm of fashion.

Good

Braids: An ancient art that has lasted through centuries of change, braids are versatile and timeless. You can do pretty much anything with them. They can be dressed up or down; casual or formal; simple or complicated. My current favorite style is milkmaid braids, which are easy to do and make any outfit look amazingly put together.

                Recycling trends: This happens all over—fashion, makeup, music, even art. I love wearing old trends (hence the hippie fascination). I especially love it when those trends become popular again *cough* 80’s neon *cough*. Of course, this can go wrong sometimes, but for the most part it’s awesome when a generation can give a nod to the past and make it look good. It makes up for some of the damaging things we’ve done to fashion.  And this comes in handy for the next item on the list…

                Fringe: Fringe is fabulous. It’s best when it’s long and dramatic, but it’s also wonderful short. Right now I’m seeking a brown suede vest that either has fringe on the bottom or is really long so that I can fringe it myself. (Note: Fringe can also mean bangs, which are great as well).

Ich will

Bad

Leggings as pants: This one should be automatic. It should be common knowledge. It should be taken for granted. I am very sorry to say that it’s not. Leggings and tights are not pants. They are often sheer and expose way more that what anyone wants to see. If you have to wear leggings, either wear shorts or a skirt over them or make sure your shirt (ideally a tunic) is long enough to cover your butt at ALL TIMES. I don’t think this can be stressed enough. Wear leggings as pants and all your class goes out the window. If you know someone who does this, you may need to stage an intervention.

                Bandeau tops: I want to like this trend. I really do. But I feel like they are going too far in the name of showing skin. But I’m not just ranting on the loss of modesty in society (although that’s true). I think bandeaus are the younger sister of tube tops. Our shirts are shrinking! What’s next, wearing nothing but a bra and some short shorts? There’s nothing wrong with wearing a bandeau under an opaque top or at the beach. But they’ve become popular undergarments for sheer or lace tops, and that is a short jump from wearing bras and see-through shirts. It’s just not classy. And you always want to stay classy. So although they can be cute if styled properly, I think bandeau tops are dangerous territory. (Note: Bandeau bathing suit tops are actually my favorite type of bathing suit. But I think they should remain that and stay away from regular clothes).

I figure I should stop here before I get carried away. What do you think are some good and bad things that have happened to fashion?

On an unrelated note, what should I write about next?

Have a fabulous day!

Keep it classy

-Allie

2 comments
  1. Allie, there are TONS of things at your disposal to write about, especially when I’m sitting here on the porch about to hear a story on NPR from some study, somewhere, that has named Orlando….get this, One of the Worst Dressed Cities in the U.S.A. That’s just raw subject matter opportunity for you! lol
    But I regress. How about those shoes/sneakers/footwear that are just like toe socks with a little more traction and padding. What’s the deal with them?

  2. Judging by the people I see around, I’m not surprised. And yeah, those shoes are pretty freaky.

Leave a Reply

