Thrift reconstruction

I’ve been dabbling in thrifting a bit lately. I went last week and picked up some items, but of course, since they were thrifted they didn’t fit like they ideally would. So naturally I had to cut them up.

This first piece was a huge t-shirt that I just wanted to cut so it wouldn’t hang off of me like a giant bag. I LOVE the design. It’s probably the coolest t-shirt I’ve owned in a long while.

It’s a record player spewing an 8-bit-esque rainbow blob!

The next shirt I just got because I thought the print was pretty, but the construction made it seem kind of old-ladyish. So I turned it into a crop top. I don’t usually like wearing crop tops because I don’t like exposing my flesh and I think wearing a cami underneath defeats the purpose of cropping the top (see what I did there). BUT I love layering crop tops over dresses, either to hide the spaghetti straps (staying in dress code during the school year) or to take a dress from “piece” to “outfit.”

 

Speaking of layering over dresses, this will be part of my first day of school outfit… And maybe an OOTD?

The last piece I am going to share today is a skirt I cut into a mullet skirt. In case I haven’t already stated it, I LOVE MULLET SKIRTS. And dresses. I saw this skirt and immediately thought “cut into mullet skirt!” So I bought it. And that’s what I did.

 

I might round out the bottom corners. It seems a bit heavy in the back. Also, it’s made out of some sort of polyester material which is a weird contrast from the other mullet skirts I own. So I’ll have to get used to that.

 

The fact that these were thrifted already affirms some degree of uniqueness, but since I customized them, they are pretty much guaranteed to be one of a kind. And that’s part of what my style is about.

 

Keep it classy,

-Allie

Leave a Reply

