Electric feel

I’ve felt like I needed to change up my style for the past few weeks, so I decided to try something I’ve tried (and failed at) before: dying my hair green.

I attempted it two years ago, but the green dye didn’t hold in my hair, so I ended up with bleached tips which were cool but not what I wanted. I just recently worked up the courage to try it again.

Before any chemicals touched my head I got a haircut. I kept the length but added some layers and trimmed my bangs.

hurr

Then I used the Manic Panic lightening kit I bought and bleached the ends of my hair to a nice orange. Even though I left it in for the full two hours, my hair refused to turn the pale “lemon yellow” it was supposed to be. I went on with the dye anyway and the results were kind of weird.

You can’t see the green in regular, inside, artificial light. But once I go in the sunlight I can see it. And it shows up on camera (I think because of the harsh flash).

006

It’s more of a mossy green than the “electric lizard” in the bottle, but I’m happy with the results. I think it’s dark because my hair underneath is still pretty dark.

007 008

The green pretty much shows up wherever the light hits it.

I think it was a pretty good way to start the new year.

 

Keep it classy

-Allie

Leave a Reply

