Not even gonna try

Hello reader!!

The other day I had the idea for an experiment. I wondered what would happen if, instead of dressing nicely and styling myself like usually, I went to school one day dressed as, well, a slob. I noticed that a lot of girls at school show up in sweat pants or yoga pants, big t-shirts, and hoodies. And while I could never understand how someone could go a whole day looking like they’re falling apart, I was really curious to see how it felt (and especially to see if the “comfort” was worth sacrificing an opportunity to dress up.

So today I rocked this “I’ve given up on life” look: my favorite hoodie, the only pair of sweatpants I own (which, by the way, don’t even really fit me– they’re about an inch too short), and a sloppy topknot. I even went all out and sported some second-day hair for the first time in the history of my school attendance.

given up

I observed people’s reactions and here were the results:

  • 3 “You look super comfortable!”s
  • 1 “You’re colorful today…”
  • 1 “I like your IDGAF look”

I didn’t get as much of an open response as I expected, but I did feel like people were looking at me weirdly all day. That could have been imagined, but it supports a claim that I hold as one of my basic fashion rules: If you feel fabulous, you will look fabulous.

All day I felt like a slob and I was way more self-conscious than I ever am in a short skirt or a tight dress. I didn’t feel fabulous. And I know no one looked at me and said “Wow, she looks great!” (Notice how the compliments I got were all connotation-neutral?) I’m not saying that you have to dress like a model in a magazine spread every day, but I am saying that the way you feel is directly reflected in the way you look. If that means wearing sweats and a hoodie every day, then more power to you.

But for me, I think I’ll stick with the fully styled outfits. The sweatpants weren’t even that comfortable for me anyway! And the bun made my head hurt. Plus it actually took MORE work to plan my outfit and hair and it was really hard to pick what shoes to wear. Like harder than usual. And I changed as soon as I finished taking these pictures, which I did as soon as I got home. It’s a sign that the bum look is just not the way for me.

honeybadger don't care

Does this face look like it cares?

9 comments
  1. Rogue Honeybadger said:

    lololol Rock those sweats!

  2. mommy said:

    you still look beautiful! Now dress up, we’re going to dinner.

  3. Nice. Sometimes you need to fall back on your comfortable look, but that doesn’t mean you are a sweats girl. My casual look is a shorter skirt and tights, while jeans are dressy.

    • I agree; there is definitely a line between causal and not-even-trying. My casual look is usually a skirt or dress too ๐Ÿ™‚

      • It`s a good look for no effort!

      • Yeah! And dresses are so much less work since you only need to pick out one piece.

      • That`s what I always say ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

