Welcome to the Swaggin’ Wagon: a DIY

So I got my license yesterday, and to celebrate (I seize the opportunity to celebrate anything good that happens- it’s the little things that make life exciting) I’ve been personalizing my car. Today I finished making a little throw pillow to keep in the seat and I wanted to make a quick tutorial.

I’m extremely lazy, so I like to keep my DIY projects as simple as possible. Nor do I have a sewing machine, so I also try to keep the sewing to a minimum. My pillow was pretty small and didn’t take too long to hand-stitch. Here’s the finished product:

IMG_7994

I facetiously named my car the Swaggin’ Wagon.

I’m so happy with it! Here’s what you need:

  • Transfer paper
  • An iron and ironing board
  • Fabric
  • Needle and thread
  • Stuffing

And to make it:

Swaggin wagon

  1. Create your design. I made this simple emblem on Word and added some unicorn clip-art I found online. It’s important that the shape will be easy to cut out and the text color contrasts the background color strongly.
  2. Print it out. Print your design onto the transfer paper and cut it out, being careful not to leave any white around the edges.
  3. Cut out the fabric. You’ll need a rectangle; I started out measuring mine but was just eyeballing it by the end. Basically decide on what size you want your pillow to be and make the fabric twice as long.
  4. Iron on the design. Pay attention to the directions on the transfer sheets’ package.
  5. Sew. Fold the rectangle in half, right sides touching. Stitch two of the sides closed and only part of the third side. Turn it right side out.
  6. Stuff. Put in a small amount of stuffing at a time until your pillow has reached desired puff levels.
  7. Close. Stitch up the rest of the third side, fluff your pillow and voila! Your very own decorative throw pillow for car or home.

The great thing about DIYs like this is that no matter what you make, it’ll be completely unique to you. Plus it kind of serves a function.

I’m so glad I finally got to share a DIY with you guys.

My collage thing above was made on http://www.fotor.com

 

Keep it classy,

Allie

4 comments
  1. nataliejo210 said:

    I adore this article! Just started a blog and it would mean so much if you could check it out! Followed btw xx what a cute DIY

    • Thank you! And I just went to your blog and the first thing I saw was John Green so it looks like you’ve got a new follower as well… 🙂

  2. lindsaygabrielify said:

    omg yes yes a thousand times yes

Leave a Reply

